Depending on their size, eggs are classified into:

  • Super Large or XL: 73 grams or more
  • Large or L: between 63 and 73 grams
  • Medium or M: between 53 and 63 grams
  • Small or S: less than 53 grams

The Spanish Food Code (CAE) classifies the eggs according to their state of conservation as:

  • Fresh eggs (less than 15 days after sunset)
  • Chilled eggs (15 to 30 days after laying)
  • Preserved eggs (from 30 days to 6 months, at a certain temperature)
  • Defective eggs (with non-characteristic smell and taste)
  • Broken eggs (unfit for human consumption).
About the author

Montse Gonzalez